At the Newbold-White House, learn about the life of a Quaker family settling in Colonial North Carolina. Abraham Sanders built the brick house in 1730 for his wife Judith and their six children. Sanders’ riverside plantation was a diverse agricultural operation that included raising corn, cotton, wheat, flax, indigo, tobacco, rice, bees and livestock.
The property’s first owner was Joseph Scott who received a land grant from the Duke of Albemarle in 1663. In 1672, Scott was visited by George Fox, the founder of the Quakers or Society of Friends. Fox’s visit had tremendous impact on the residents and by the mid 18th century forty percent of adult males in the county were Quakers. Today, there remain two active Quaker meetings in Perquimans.
Simple, yet elegant, the Newbold-White House is the oldest house in North Carolina open to the public and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The expansive grounds feature a Quaker gravesite dating to the 1600s and a seasonal herb garden. It will soon be home to a Periauger, a double-masted workboat, set to arrive in Historic Hertford in the fall of 2004.
Visitors have the unique opportunity to visit the house as it undergoes restoration and observe the impressive historic preservation process. The site’s fine collection of 18th century furnishings and decorative art is on exhibit in the Newbold-White House Visitor Center.